31/01/2017

Tasty Breakfast Bars!

I have been making these breakfast bars a lot recently.  They are packed with fruit, nuts and seeds and make a great mid morning snack.  They’re handy to take to work for me and Kelly and Amelia likes them too which is a bonus!

INGREDIENTS
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 150g soft brown sugar
  • 75g golden syrup with a little extra to drizzle over at the end
  • 300g porridge oats
  • 100g mixed dried fruit (I use raisins and cranberries)
  • A large handful of chopped nuts (I use walnuts)
  • A handful of mixed seeds (I use sunflower and pine nuts)
INSTRUCTIONS
  • Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C/gas mark 3.  Our oven is rubbish so I always put it between 3 and 4.  Grease and line a 20cm square tin.  I use a Pampered Chef square baker which doesn’t require greasing.
  • In a pan add the butter, sugar and syrup and heat gently.  Whilst this is melting  add the oats, dried fruit, nuts and half the seeds to a bowl.
  • When the mixture has fully melted pour into the bowl and mix well.
  • Put the mixture into the tin and pat it down as much as you can.  I use a silicone spatula.
  • Drizzle over a little syrup and sprinkle some seeds on top.

_20170131_133448

  • Cook in the oven for 40 minutes until golden.  I have to leave mine for 50 minutes so keep checking until golden brown.
  • This is the important part! Leave to cool completely before cutting into slices.  If you don’t it will crumble.

_20170131_170441

Let me know if you give them a try!

Leave a Reply

